Faculty Awards

msu tower


A collection of awards our faculty (both past and present) have received over the years from the College of Human Medicine and Michigan State University.








  • Distinguished Academic Staff Award
    • 2020 - Madeleine Lenski, MSPH, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
  • MSU Outreach Scholarhip Community Partnership Award
    • 2010 - Gretchen L. Birbeck, MD, MPH/Chieftainess Mwenda, Basanje Royal Establishment and Chikankata Epilepsy Care Team, Mazabuka, Zambia Department of Epidemiology/Department of Neurology and Ophthalmology
  • MSU Research Foundation Professor
    • 2021 - Honglei Chen, PhD: Epidemiology and Biostatistics
  • University Distinguished Professor
    • 2015 - Joseph Gardiner, PhD, Professor of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
    • 2009 - Nigel S. Paneth, MD, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
  • William J. Beal Distinguished Faculty Award
    The William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty awards go to individuals who have made distinguished and widely recognized contributions to their fields, who have made significant contributions to MSU and its programs, and who represent the character and qualities of excellence valued at Michigan State University.

    • 2018  James Anthony - Human Medicine: Epidemiology & Biostatistics
    • 2010 Kenneth D. Rosenman - Human Medicine: Medicine; Epidemiology
    • 2002 Joseph C. Gardiner - Human Medicine: Epidemiology, Natural Science, Statistics and Probability
    • 2001 Nigel Paneth - Human Medicine: Epidemiology, Pediatrics and Human Development